carham community Website

Carham Parish, Northumberland, United kIngdom

St. Paul's Church, Branxton

St Paul's Branxton - Altar

St. Paul's, situated some 8 miles from Norham in Northumberland is a delightful church with an ancient Chancel Arch, partly dating from the 12th Century. It was here that the bodies of some of the thousands of English and Scots slain at Flodden Field were laid. Nearby on the A697 is the area known as Pallinsburn, which is probably one of the river sites at which Paulinus, a Roman missionary and first Bishop of York baptised pagan converts about 630AD 

The church building as it stands today, dates from around 1849, with a more modern altar from the 1960's

In 2013 a new memorial door was installed at St Paul's in commemoration of the many English and Scots lives lost on the Flodden battlefield in 1513.

Flodden field lies close to the church, and there is a battlefield trail with interpretation panels that can be accessed from the Flodden car park, east of St Paul's Church. Both the Church and Battlefield Trail form part of an Ecomuseum  that encompasses several national historical sites connected with the battle, including the remains of Wark castle.

 


 

St. Paul's Branxton, Services

  

 

Sunday 12th August

10.30am - Morning Worship

Sunday 19h August

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 26th August

10.30am - All Age Service

Sunday 2nd September

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 9th September 

10.30am - Morning Worship

Sunday 16th September 

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 23rd September

10.30am - All Age Service

Sunday 30th September

11am - Joint Service at Carham - St Michael & All Angels Day

Sunday 7th October

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 14th October

10.30am - Morning Worship

Friday 19th October

Branxton Harvest Festival (Evening - time TBC)

Sunday 21st October 

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 28th October 

10.30pm - All Age Service

Sunday 4th November

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 4th November

4pm - All Souls Service

Sunday 18th November

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 25th November 

10.30am - All Age Service 

scroll back to top