carham community Website

Carham Parish, Northumberland, United kIngdom

St. Paul's Church, Branxton

St Paul's Branxton - Altar

St. Paul's, situated some 8 miles from Norham in Northumberland is a delightful church with an ancient Chancel Arch, partly dating from the 12th Century. It was here that the bodies of some of the thousands of English and Scots slain at Flodden Field were laid. Nearby on the A697 is the area known as Pallinsburn, which is probably one of the river sites at which Paulinus, a Roman missionary and first Bishop of York baptised pagan converts about 630AD 

The church building as it stands today, dates from around 1849, with a more modern altar from the 1960's

In 2013 a new memorial door was installed at St Paul's in commemoration of the many English and Scots lives lost on the Flodden battlefield in 1513.

Flodden field lies close to the church, and there is a battlefield trail with interpretation panels that can be accessed from the Flodden car park, east of St Paul's Church. Both the Church and Battlefield Trail form part of an Ecomuseum  that encompasses several national historical sites connected with the battle, including the remains of Wark castle.

 


 

St. Paul's Branxton, Services

  

 

Sunday 3rd December

9.30am - Holy Communion

Sunday 10th December 

10.30am - Morning Worship

Sunday 17th December

4.00pm Carol Service 

Sunday 24th December

10.30am - Christmas Praise

11.30pm - Midnight Communion

Sunday 31st December 

 11.00am - Year's end Joint Service 

Sunday 7th January 2018

9.30pm - Holy Communion

Sunday 14th January

10.30am - Morning Worship

Sunday 21st January

9.30pm - Holy Communion

Sunday 28th January

10.30am - All Age Worship

Sunday 4th February

9.30pm - Holy Communion

Sunday 11th February

10.30am - Morning Worship

Sunday 18th February

9.30pm - Holy Communion

Sunday 25th February

10.30am - All Age Worship

 

scroll back to top